108th Post

I rarely update my blog anymore but thought I would just ramble for a few minutes.  Afterall, I’m on maternity leave and I actually have a minute.  This will be my 108th post since I started my blog in 2009.  I have some new followers from Asia, which is always so cool to see how far a random person’s blog can really reach.  It is so nice to know that my blog not only kept my friends up to date and allowed me to vent, but is also helping others (even though maybe just a few, who knows) around the world.  So here are my random thoughts for today (only one breast cancer related):

1.  First, tonight is my friend Sara’s memorial service.  She was one of the two stage 4 girls in our Young Survivor Group at Carolina Breast Friends.  She passed away the week before we went to Florida and three months after our friend Amy.  I met Sara in the waiting room at my oncologist’s office back in 2009 and we became friends on facebook and through text after that.  We grew closer in the last two years as we formed the Young Survivors Group and I invited her to our first meeting.  She was a teacher at West Meck highschool and such a cool chick.  She quit work to focus on her health after learning her cancer had metastasized to her lungs, liver and brain.  She went to Puerto Rico to learn about raw dieting and juicing and was always on top of her health.  Her mom passed away a little over a year ago from a sudden stroke and the breast cancer genetic mutation ran in her family (just like Amy).  Her dad is just precious and is left behind with so much sadness but tons of special memories of both of them.  I know Sara and her mom have reunited in Heaven.  Tonight will be a hard night though.  I haven’t had much time to grieve losing her friendship with all our adoption stuff going on.

2.  Today is also my husband’s dad’s birthday.  He died a little over a year ago too (time is a blur for me).  Happy birthday Garland Murray and thank you for teaching my husband how to be a standup man, best husband ever, and the greatest father I know.  Dan learned how to be patient, kind, confident, and all the man he is from his dad.  Dan’s family was very well known in Greensboro when he was growing up.  Everyone I meet from Greensboro knows their family.  Dan’s dad was very involved with the Red Cross and they are the most special family.  I am the luckiest girl to be a part of their family.  There is more to the story but just know, they are truly resilient, faithful, forgiving and the most precious people on earth.

3.  My last post was about my 4 year survivor day.  A lot of times on facebook, I would post things like “on this day in 2009, I was getting my first chemo” or “on this day in 2009, blah blah blah”.  Now I only do that on March 24.  I am looking forward to the future now and not dwelling on the past anymore.  Well I’m trying at least.  There is so much brightness ahead.  We adopted our second child in early April.  The adoption process usually takes a year from the time you sign up with an agency or consultant.  We adopted Aidan in 3 weeks and SaraGrace in 1 month.  I told our consultant she was the best ever.  She said it’s because we were also open to pretty much anything.  We just wanted a child.  I also think my past experiences led me to where I am and where we were supposed to be.  God didn’t want us waiting anymore.  We had already waited long enough.  Adoption has been the most surprising blessing of my life.  Not many people grow up thinking they want to adopt.  But man, it’s an awesome experience and I wouldn’t want it any other way.  Our two kids are amazingly perfect and they are turning out just like us (after reading that again – I am not saying that Dan and I are “amazingly perfect” – ha – but you know what I mean hopefully).  Aidan is a little neat freak and little fisty just like me.  And SaraGrace and Aidan (as a baby) are calm and peaceful just like Dan.  We have great and balanced relationships with their birthparents and things went perfectly for both.  We are so grateful.

4.  Facebook…..what can I say, everyone knows I love facebook.  Sometimes I post 10 things in a row just because I think of something else to say.  But I really do – I just love facebook.  It allowed me to become friends with people in other states and countries (through my blog first) that I wouldn’t have gotten to know otherwise.  It helps our young survivor group stay connected.  It is a daily reminder of all the struggles out there and all the happiness out there.  Right now, I have friends on facebook who have recently lost children or loved ones, people recently diagnosed with breast cancer, two friends whose facebook pages are being monitored by their own loved ones because they have passed on, a friend who was in a serious car accident this week, several friends who are expecting babies or just had babies, and then all the funny pics and posts that crack me up.  I even learn things – like the Hornets coming back to Charlotte.  Dan asked how I knew about that and I said Dion-on facebook.  I know some people are facebook haters but I love it. 

5.  Hm, what else do I have to say.  Work is going good.  I love the company I work for (Ally Bank / Ally Financial).  I am an Audit Director there.  My team is great.  I love my boss and our leaders are fantastic.  They’ve been very supportive through our whole adoption process (it came on pretty suddenly and right in the beginning of our plan year).  I’ve also dedicated some of my maternity leave hours to work from home – just trying to keep things on track and help with some sudden projects.  This shows me how much I like my job. 

6.  My sister Natalie – my bestie and the person I talked to twice a day as she came to watch Aidan over the past three and a half years.  She is the best littlest sis ever, the best nanny ever, the best mom ever.  Her daughter Marley and Aidan have grown up like brother and sister.  Right after we adopted though, she sadly told us they were moving to Lousianna for 6 months and then to Texas for a year or two.  This was devastating for our whole family.  I am not a crier unless it’s something pretty serious, but man, did Natalie and I cry when we hugged goodbye.  I miss her so much.  I can cry now just thinking about it.  I miss Marley too, her daughter (3 months younger than Aidan).  When I hugged her goodbye, I told her she was my favorite neice and that I loved her so much.  She looked at me like “why are you crying?!”  They are too young to understand completely.  My family has always lived in the same town so this is a really hard adjustment for our whole family.  Natalie’s husband Matt – he is really close with his family too.  We all miss them so much.  I am trying to learn to Skype.  No luck so far.  I thought I was tech savy but apparently I’m getting old.  Move back home Nat!

7.  Aidan is at preschool full time now.  He loves it.  He is the most social kid you can imagine.  He is definitely the power kid in the class.  Mister confident and mister smarty pants.  SaraGrace is growing fast.  She’s probably like 11 or 12 pounds now.  She started smiling at 3 weeks.  Pretty amazing.  I am in love with both my children.  I never thought I could love anyone more than Aidan, but man, was my mom right – you love all your children equally.  They are my world. 

8.  I guess that’s enough for now.  I really didn’t have a point to this blog post other than to just write.  I like writing and have missed it.  And I want to write about more than just stupid breast cancer.  :)  Enough said.

5 Responses to “108th Post”

  1. Linda Kragnes Says:

    I love reading your blog and all you have to say! I’m crying too – you know why. Sad and happy too for everything.

  2. Becky Says:

    Wow…looking back on your blog reminds me of how much you have been through. You handled it so gracefully and honestly, which I can’t imagine was easy to do. I’ve always said you are my hero, but seriously, you really are. I’m so happy to see you happy and to be where you are exactly meant to be in life. You are such an inspiration!! Xoxoxo
    PS I feel the exact same way about Facebook! Haters hate on b/c I think it’s great! It reconnected me with you and I’m so grateful for that!!

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Awe thank you so much!! I miss you! We need to plan a visit this summer. Not for a walk but just to chill, let the kids play, have some wine, etc.

  3. Becky Says:

    Agreed!! I would love love love that!! Let’s plan it soon. Miss you too :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

