Chemo ~ Cycle 1 / Day 3

Hello.  If this is your first time visiting my page, thank you for your concern and support.  You may want to read the pages to the left first, then read from below.  My latest blog entries will feed to the top automatically.  

Today is day 3 of my first cycle of chemo.  Today was expected to be the start of the worst days (days 3-5).  It started off ok, I awoke after 12 hours of sleep and felt ok.  I did a few things around the house, ran a quick errand but started to feel worse around 1:00.  I’m just taking it easy the rest of the weekend now. 

I have all my wigs ordered and some on hand so the next time you see me don’t be alarmed if I have a different hair style each time I run into you, however that’s probably nothing new since I change it so often anyway.  I should lose my hair around April 15, again dreading that.  The wig shopping was so NOT fun but Nina, Natalie, my mom and Dan were all there so that was nice.  Most wigs are designed for people who want shorter, more poofier hair, the look and style of which looked atrocious on me and often resembled a mullet or mop.  The shorter hair wigs looked hideous on me, as did the really blonde ones (looked super fake, makes me question how my hair must look now), the ones with bangs, and the ones with layers.  It was quite the search but I found some that will do I think (no pun intended, ha, get it “hair do”).

24 Responses to “Chemo ~ Cycle 1 / Day 3”

  1. Dion Says:

    Danielle,

    It is so great being able to read and keep up with you on here. Just know that I’m thinking and praying for you, Dan and your family daily. I have faith that you’ll pull through this stronger than every. Keep up the great posts.

    P.S. – I would go with the mullet wig, just to mess with people!

    Love Ya!
    Dion

  2. Sheri Hunter Says:

    Danielle,

    I am so glad you decided to blog about this. I pray for you, Dan and your family EVERYDAY. You are one of the strongest persons I know and have no doubts that everything will work out for your good. Stay in good health!
    Love ya!
    Sheri and Buffy 🙂

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Thanks Sheri (and Buffy, ha!). Sorry I haven’t called you back yet. I’ve been a little forgetful and groggy froggy. Love you!!

  3. Paige Says:

    Hi Danielle! It’s Paige…Buddy’s sister. Ever since Lisa told me of the cancer I have been praying for you!! The other day I bought a shirt that says..”Fight Like a Girl” and I am wearing it for you!!!! The first night of your chemo treatment you kept coming to my mind so I prayed for you…especially for the nausea. Please know that you are very much in my prayers and I am glad you have this blog so we can keep updated about you throughout this journey. Be Strong and “Fight like a girl!!!!!” We love you! Paige

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Hi Paige! Thank you so much, that really means a lot to me and is so kind of you!! I love you all too!

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Danielle,
    I am so glad you and Dan decided to put this together. The details you remember are remarkable! Remember to stay strong and stay positive and you will come out of this a winner! I am always here for you – and not far away – so please call me if you need ANYTHING. We will see each other again soon!
    You have a fan base who is cheering you on. We all love you and are so lucky to have a great support system around you. LOVE U, XOXO

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Thanks Jen!! I love you too! All your kind words mean a lot to me and I thank you so much!!

  5. Dusty Cassidy Says:

    Danielle, We are SOOOOO rooting for you in all of this and we are praying for you harder than you could even imagine. We love ya, sister and hope you know it!! 🙂

  6. Ron Kragnes Says:

    Hey Danille, This was my first time to ever visit anyone’s BLOG. I didn’t even know what it was or what purpose it could serve. I SURE do know now. Thanks for sharing this with me and our family. We haven’t spent much time together over the years… but, let it be known that I care about you and Dan and wish you the best in these trying times. You sound strong (a good Pap Kragnes trait) and commited. Love, Uncle Ron

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Hi Uncle Ron! Thanks, I’m glad you like my blog. Can’t wait to see you in June! It was great talking with you the other day too. Love, Danielle

  7. Jen (your cuz) Says:

    Hi Danielle –

    This site is so awe inspiring. I’ll be checking it often. It will be like we’re going through it with you even though we’re miles and miles apart. We’re all pulling for you here in the ‘burgh and just want you to know that we love you and are here for you always. Your positive attitude is going to get you far. Stay strong sweetie. Love, Jen

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Hey Jen! Thank you for all your support! I love you guys! Can’t wait to see everyone in June for Nina’s wedding!! Tell everyone up there I said hi! Love you all!

  8. Beckie Johnson Says:

    Thanks for including me in your distribution list! Hang in there, you are doing great 🙂

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Hi Beckie! You’re welcome! Thank YOU for all your support! You are so generous and thoughtful and a great friend to my mom. Thank you so much for the books and bracelets. I wear at least one every day!! Thanks again!

  9. Heather Helweg Says:

    Hey Danielle, like the others above, I think it’s great that you and Dan put this together to help everyone understand what is happening (and also so you can keep all the phone calls to a minimum when you need to 🙂 ). I am thinking about you all the time and please feel free to reach out to me if you need anything (maybe even a chill Sunday hanging out in a cove at the lake).

    Maddy, Kasha and I love you.

    Heather

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Thanks Heather! It was great seeing you the other night and I will probably definitely take you up on that lazy lake cove day sometime this summer! 🙂 Love you (and Maddy and Kasha too)! 🙂 Oh, and I think you forgot your bday present AGAIN, now it’s at Trebor’s – HA!!

  10. Cindy Pope Says:

    Danielle,
    As everyone else has said, so glad you’re doing the blog. I remember what it was like repeating “the story” so many times. I’ve wanted to call you, but knew you would be tired and overwhelmed. My prayers have been with you daily since we met for dinner last week. Like I said, I’m here for you in any way you need me. Keep writing the blog, in a way, its like keeping a journal of your thoughts/feelings (a public one!). Stay strong & lean on those who can provide you support!! Love Ya! Cindy

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Hi Cindy! Thanks for your message. It was really great talking with you last week at dinner and I am so glad you got through everything last year with success. It’s always wonderful and reassuring hearing success stories. It’s also always nice talking with you and your family. Your family is the best and I love you all!! Hope to see you again soon!!

  11. Kelly Winrich Says:

    Danielle,

    You are a constant in my thoughts and prayers. Thank you for having the strength and courage to educate and share your journey with us. You are such a wonderful, beautiful person, and so loved. We love and support you. Thinking of you always!

    Love,
    Kel, Grant, and the munchkins

  12. Christy Says:

    I am so glad you are doing this so all the people who love you can stay updated!!! As I read this entry, I thought of Samantha from sex and the city when she wore the different wigs. She was always stylish and fun just as I know you will because that is who you are….fabulous!
    I know it will an adjustment but remember true beauty is from the inside and it always shines through! And you are beautiful!
    Love you and cheering you on everyday:)

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Thanks Christy! I’ll try to remember that when the time comes to break out the wigs, ha. 🙂 Love you!!


Leave a Reply

