Chemo ~ Cycle 1 / Day 4

(Note: If this is your first time visiting my page, thank you for your concern and support.  You may want to read the pages to the left first, then read from below.  My latest blog entries will feed to the top automatically. ) 

Even though today is supposed to be one of the worst days post chemo (days 3-5), I actually feel pretty good this morning.   My mom came over this morning and has been spending the morning/day with me.  It’s been a long week for her too so we’re just resting on the couch, chit-chatting, watching Project Runway, catching up on emails, etc.  Nina’s coming over shortly too. 

Over the past few days, I have usually started feeling worse as the day goes on, starting at about 12:30 or 1:00 so we’ll see how the rest of the weekend goes.  I’m drinking lots of water and eating good so I think that’s helping. 

I greatly appreciate everyone’s comments, messages, cards, flowers, calls, etc.  Everyone has been so kind and I really appreciate everyone.  My work has been outstanding as well (especially Stephanie, my wonderful boss).  I’m looking forward to getting back to work next week.  I have another treatment on Wednesday, which is approaching faster than I thought it would, but it’s only one treatment, the Herceptin (to fight the over-amplified HER2+ receptors), so that one won’t be as bad as the chemo treatments I’ll receive every 3 weeks (Taxotere, Carboplatin, and Herceptin) so I think things will go fine this week.

So far my symptoms over the past few days have included occasional nausea and upset stomach, but I have plenty of prescriptions for that, feeling tired by about 1:00, increasing around 3:30ish and hitting the sack around 7:45 or 8:00pm.  I’ve slept good through the nights and wake rested though so that’s good.  The later evening tiredness isn’t like just a normal tired feeling.  It feels more like I’ve been up for 3 days, sometimes seems like I’m dreaming while awake, feeling really weird (somewhat hallucinating and very out of it) and just darn ready to hit the sack.  Once I do though, I’m fine.  The next worst part, or possibly equally worse, is the dry mouth and sore throat.  The chemo treatments are designed to kill your body’s fast growing cells, including most importantly, the cancer cells, but by design the chemo treatments also kill all other fast growing cells, including your hair (head, legs, armpits, other areas, but not so much eye lashes, eye brows and arms, since those grow slower) and your whole mouth/abdominal/esophagus tract.  This is the reasoning for the hair loss, nausea and vomiting.  My whole mouth and throat down to my stomach feels really dry, sore and hot.  Other symptoms have included feeling very forgetful and somewhat out of it, but really not seeming so at the time.  It has been a little difficult to concentrate and I often have to go back through my phone to remember who I have spoken with.  I feel fine at the time but then minutes or hours later, I’ll think or ask Dan “did I talk to so-and-so today”?

All in all though, I’m doing ok and staying positive.  Oh yeah, and some good news.   Of the three out out my four tumors that I can feel, the largest one I can tell has already somewhat shrunk a little so that’s very reassuring and a good sign.

2 Responses to “Chemo ~ Cycle 1 / Day 4”

  1. Steph Says:

    Hooray for shrinking tumors!! We are ALL sending you our best wishes and can’t wait to get you back to Brussels!!


Leave a Reply

