Herceptin Week 3

(Note: If this is your first time visiting my page, thank you for your concern and support.  You may want to read the pages to the left first, then read from below.  My latest blog entries will feed to the top automatically. ) 

Hi.  Today was my third week of the Herceptin, the targeted chemo treatment.  There aren’t any major side effects so I was able to drive myself (Dan had to pick up paper work and take a drug test for his new job). 🙂  Nina came with me though.  I just picked her up outside her work on my way.  We arrived a couple minutes late after playing hide and seek downtown looking for each other for a little while.  We checked in at the front desk and I laid my hand on the palm scanner for the bio-identification checkin.  Nina thought I was getting my palm read, it was funny. 

The chemo room had a lot of people in it today.  By a lot, I mean probably 10 patients, plus one guest each.  That’s probably three more patients than prior weeks.  This was my frist afternoon appointment.  All others had been in the morning.  They reserve the afternoon appointments for the shorter treatments.  Today’s IV was more painful than normal.  They tried putting it in my hand, which I won’t let them do again.  It didn’t work so they moved it up my arm more and then it was fine.  They recommended the port again but I’m still waiting on that.

Remember yesterday how I said I called to talk to the nurse about the hair loss?  Well today she approached me and gave me a thumbs up sign and said “it looks great!”  She thought I was wearing a wig already and said it looked so natural!  I’m not wearing a wig yet so it made for some good laughs.  Speaking of hair loss though, more came out today than yesterday but it’s still not noticeable yet.

Nina is showing signs of turning into our mom.  She got all worried when they were sticking my hand and said “you’re hurting my sister!”  Then I said my arm was cold (it was a little cold from the Herceptin going in) and Nina got all worried again and went up to the nurse’s station and asked if it was normal and got me a warm blanket and warming pad.  I told her she sounded like mom when mom panicked because my arm was itchy where they had this sticker thing for the IV.  It was funny.

3 Responses to “Herceptin Week 3”

  1. Becky Says:

    Aw, the story about Nina is sweet. Thats funny about the nurse and your hair…and the palm reading thing! You make me laugh! You’re such a trooper! Can’t wait to see you 🙂

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      I can’t wait to see you too!! Gosh, what has it been, 12 1/2 years!!!!! Geez we’re old.

      • Becky Says:

        Haha! Yes we are, but young at heart! I still act like I’m 15 at times. Then there are days I act and feel 80! 🙂


Leave a Reply

