Chemo Cycle 2 Better / Oprah Count Down

(Note: If this is your first time visiting my page, thank you for your concern and support.  You may want to read the pages to the left first, then read from below.  My latest blog entries will feed to the top automatically. ) 

I haven’t written an update in a few days, sorry, no real reason.  I’ve been super excited about my Oprah news and I’ll start with that I guess, since that’s definitely the most entertaining.   Nina and I are all scheduled to fly up to Chicago next Wednesday night after my Herceptin appointment and are on the audience guest list for the Thursday morning taping, which is the finale show of this season!!  We’re not sure what the topic is yet but it’s bound to be a super fantastic show!!   I watch Oprah every day and am so excited to basically meet the most famous person in the world!!  My Herceptin appointment that Wednesday was supposed to be at 3:00 but I had to move it to 2:30 so we wouldn’t risk missing our 6:00 flight.  When I called to reschedule it for earlier, they said they weren’t allowed to schedule my treatment any earlier because the earlier appointments are reserved for the longer treatments, like the ones I have every three weeks.  When I told them it was because I needed to fly out for the Oprah show, they were like “oh wow, ok, what time do you need to change it to?!”  It was really funny.  Leave it to Oprah to have pull with the chemo schedule, ha!!  I’m not sure when the finale will air but the Dr. Oz episode where my picture will be on set will air on Tuesday, May 12.  I know I’ve mentioned this a few times already, sorry, can’t help it. 

My next big news, which is on the opposite spectrum of excitment, is that my hair is basically gone.  I have about 15% of it left probably and am wearing wigs and hats full time now.  It wasn’t as dramatic as I thought but it’s still coming out every day.  I haven’t decided to shave it yet, but really only because I think that would hurt.  It’s a little sore and sensitive up there.  It’s nice not shaving (my legs) though and I’ve been getting to work much earlier.

And now for my chemo stuff; I guess I haven’t really said anything about my second big round yet.  It went better than the first round but I was very busy with Nina’s shower over the weekend and took certain precautions to prevent some of the side effects this time.   I took certain prescriptions earlier and longer, chewed on ice during my treatments, drank more water beforehand, etc.  I heard the treatments would get worse each time but my second one was actually better.  I’ve come to the conclusion that I just got really sick at the same time as the first round, which made everything worse.  I have had some side effects though, including being really tired the first days by around lunch, hitting the sack between 6-8 pm the first 5 nights or so, feeling nauseous here and there, etc. 

Hm, what else…….  Ah yes, my friend at the wig place.  I haven’t heard back from her yet since we last spoke but I called and left her a message and will keep everyone posted. 

And one last a random update……I’m having a hard time finding foods that don’t have sugar and soy!!  Soy has plant estrogen, which I can’t have because my cancer has estrogen receptors, and sugar supposedly fuels cancer so that’s been a big struggle.  I love my snacks and miss my Dove chocoloate eggs.  Sugar is obvious, but you wouldn’t imagine how many things have soy!

12 Responses to “Chemo Cycle 2 Better / Oprah Count Down”

  1. Bekah Says:

    I’ve been wondering where the snack updates have been on facebook. Hang in there with the sugar! I know how tough no sugar can be on a serious snacker. You will be able to have it again soon enough. I will get you one of those giant Hershey bars (3′ x 2′) from Hershey park to celebrate your cancer-freeness!

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Ha, yeah, I haven’t posted any snack updates on facebook, that’s funny you noticed!! 🙂 That hershey bar sounds yummy!! Mmmmm.

  2. Kelly Says:

    You’re so cute 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Sounds like you’re doing GREAT!!!! Sooo excited about Oprah!! Wear something BRIGHT on the show, so we can find you right away 🙂 🙂 ;)! How cool is this!? Can you believe it? Love you girl!!

  3. Christy Says:

    That is so funny about the Oprah pull! I watch her everyday and my eyes will be glued to the TV on the 12th and I am sure the finale show will be great! Sometimes it is oprah’s favorite summer things! I bet I got you daydreaming now:) May not but sometimes it is……….either way fun times ahead! Glad this time was better for you! and that is so sweet and creative of Nina with the eve gifts! And Dove Glo- will be on my list! luvu~

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Oh wow, that would be awesome if it was her favorite things episode! I think I would be one of those hysterical audience members crying and jumping up and down. Or I’d pass out. Ha.

  4. Steph Says:

    Hi Danielle – Brian is coming home in a few weeks, and there is a new line of sugar free Belgian chocolates – do you want to try them? Also, are there any special snacks from here that you want?

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Oh yummy!! Sure I’ll try some sugar free Belgium chocolates but don’t go out of your way or make any special trips! Only if you already have some. Thanks!!

  5. Robby De Meulemeester Says:

    Hi Danielle,

    Stephanie only told me last week that you are being treated for cancer. I haven’t read through your blog yet, so I am not really up to speed with the progress you have made in the last month, but what I feel and what I hear from Stephanie: you are upbeat, positive and putting up a fight. That is great to hear!

    Ellen and I want to wish you all the courage and support you need from family, friends and colleagues and we are sure that everything will work out fine. Keep up the good spirit and I will now start reading your whole blog (after work of course 😉

    Sorry I haven’t mentionned this on the phone before, I just wanted to do if officially (great blog by the way) and afterwards we can talk in person, if you would like.

    I promise you that on your next visit to Belgium, I’ll give you Belgian chocolates for my birthday!

    Hang in there!

    Big hug,
    Robby

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Hey Robby!! No problem, thanks for your message!! That was sweet of you! Talk to you soon! 🙂 “in the ayer”

  6. Shelley Rice Says:

    Good to hear all this! I have the dates on my calendar and we have nice wide screen television in our conference rooms. I’m putting the May 12 date on the calendars now so we can watch live (or taped live)! Let us know when the show you are at will air!


Leave a Reply

