MRI Appointment

(Note: If this is your first time visiting my page, thank you for your concern and support.  You may want to read the pages to the left first, then read from below.  My latest blog entries will feed to the top automatically.   The most recent blog entries are also listed as links on the bottom left.)

Well, I had my MRI appointment today, the first scan I’ve had since I was first diagnosed in March.  It was an important scan because it’s the first time we can tell for sure if the treatments worked and ultimately helps my doctors evaluate my prognosis for “disease free survival”.  As a reminder, or for those of you who have started following my blog later in the course of my treatment, my doctors initially told me that my “disease free survival” rate was 50-60%, or that I had a 40-50% chance of not being 100% cured from the cancer after all my chemo treatments, surgery and radiation.  The initially bleak prognosis was due to the several high risk factors for my cancer: being HER2+, being ER+, the number, size and grade of the tumors, being detected after lymph node involvement, my age (higher risk in younger women), etc.

After a while in the waiting room and upon being called back, I was asked to change into some scrubs and was led back to the MRI scan room.  I was wearing my hat with the pony tail sewn into it.  They asked me to remove my jewelry and my hat for the scan.  Let me first say this – I have never let ANYONE see me without a hat or wiggie since I lost my hair.  I think only Dan, my mom, Nina and Janelle have ever seen only short glimpses but that’s about it.  I also must add that I am NOT an emotional person at all and it takes a huge life event for me to cry.  However today, as soon as the radiologist technician asked me to take off my hat, I started crying, upset about having someone see me without my hair for pretty much the first time.  They comforted me though by telling me it was fine, they see it all the time and told me I was beautiful anyway.  I got over it quick I guess.  I think I was just nervous.

The scan lasted about 20 minutes.  They started an IV for the contrast fluid first (not to be confused with “compost” fluid, which I was calling it during my initial CT scans back in March, ha).   The MRI machine is tunnel shaped with a table that goes in and out of the machine.  I laid down on my stomach, was given ear plugs for the noise (it’s extremely loud) and was led into the machine.  After about 20 minutes of these very loud noises for the scan images, that was it.  The technician said they’d send the results to my doctor within three days but asked for my cell phone number just in case the doctor had a chance to review the results today and wanted to call with the results.  I left my appointment, went home and finished up my day at work.

Right before 7:00pm, the phone rang.  I didn’t recognize the number and almost didn’t answer it but I did, because I’ve had a lot of unknown numbers calling me for all the appointments I have now.   It was the radiologist doctor calling from the radiology lab.  She was calling with my results……..

She said she read over my scans and was calling with good news.  She said there was NO signs of cancer remaining and that I had a complete response!!!!  During my biopsies in March, they had implanted three tiny titanium clips, one in each tumor, so they could be sure they knew where to look when they did the post-treatment scans.  She said she looked at all the clips sites, including the ones in my lymph nodes, and didn’t see any signs of cancer remaining.  As soon as I hung up the phone, I cried again, but happy tears this time.  I’ve only cried happy tears a few times in my life: first on my wedding day, next when I found out I was pregnant in February, again at Nina’s wedding a few weeks ago and today when I learned I was cancer free. 

I’m not sure how or if this changes for my surgery or radiation plans, but I should find out soon.  I’ll keep everyone posted!  Thanks again for everyone’s prayers!  Today was a big relief!!  Thank you God and thank you Dr. Limentani!!

14 Responses to “MRI Appointment”

  1. Becky Says:

    YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What great news that is! I’m SO happy to hear this! This makes me so happy! :):):):):):)

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Thanks Becky! We still need to plan our visit!! I’ll be sending out some information eventually about the upcoming breast cancer walks in Charlotte. There’s at least two I think. One through Susan G Komen on October 5 and another one in I think in August for Avon’s breast cancer crusade. One’s downtown and one’s in the South Park area. I’ll have to see how they fit into my surgery plans first though. You can think about if it would be a good weekend for you and if you’d want to come down. Or we could plan another weekend instead. Can’t wait to see you!

  2. Kelly Says:

    I love you!!! 🙂 I am so proud of you, your positive attitude, your special way to comfort others during YOUR struggle, and the strong fight you are fighting and winning. I am so thankful for you. Thank you God 🙂 !!

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Awe, thanks Kelly. I love you too! Talk to you in a minute, I think I have a missed call from you.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What great news!!!! I didn’t think you would get the results back so soon but glad they called you ASAP to to tell you the good news.
    YOU MADE ME CRY!!!!! I’m so happy for you!

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Thanks Jen! I didn’t know I was going to get the results back that soon either! The first time I had to wait until at least the next day or two afterwards for my own doctor to tell me once they got the image scans. I guess this time the radiologist just wanted to tell me the good news herself! 😀

  4. vanessa Says:

    YAY!!! that is fantastic D!!! I’m soo excited for you and am so proud of you!!! Love you!

  5. janelle Says:

    You are a hero to many people. I admire you and love you with all my heart! I am overjoyed with this news and want to shout it from the mountain top that my best friend beat cancer!!!!!!! I love you to the moon and back LP! xoxo

    • Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

      Thanks Janelle! You’ve always been such a wonderful best friend. We’ve helped each other through so many things and I love you to the moon and back too! ~ Danielle/LPFGM

  6. Molly Yukica Says:

    I started crying when I read this…this is wonderful news and I am so happy for you. I will continue to pray!!! May God Bless you always. Your strength is amazing and has touched many people in more ways than you know! Love you:)

  7. Carol Lambert Says:

    Great news and what a relief!!


Leave a Reply

