Chemo Cycle 6 Officially Over

(Note: If this is your first time visiting my page, thank you for your concern and support.  You may want to read the pages to the left first, then read from below.  My latest blog entries will feed to the top automatically.   The most recent blog entries are also listed as links on the bottom left.)

Sorry I haven’t written in a while.  My “big chemos” are officially OVER and I’m still VERY excited about that.  Phase 1 went successful and has come to an end.  Today marked the last day of my last chemo cycle, July 29, 2009.  I had 6 chemo cycles in all.  Each cycle lasted 3 weeks, starting on the days I received the “big chemos”, the first one being on April 1, 2009.  The “big chemo” days, which is what I came to call them, were the days I received all three drugs, known in the oncology world as “TCH” or “Taxotere and Carboplatin with Herceptin”.  The “big chemo” days were then followed by 2 additional weeks of Herceptin alone, rounding out the 3 week cycle.  So today I received my third Herceptin treatment for cycle 6.  All my side effects from my last “big chemo” day are gone now.  I’ll have another Herceptin appointment next week, but after that they’ll switch to every 3 weeks and will continue through April of next year to round out 52 weeks.

I have my pre-surgery appointment tomorrow, and my surgery is scheduled for August 10, 2009.  I should find out more tomorrow about the procedure itself, recovery, etc.  Dan, my mom and mother-in-law will be with me that day.  My mom is also taking the week off to spend the week at my house, which I’m very excited about.  I love spending time with my mom and can’t wait to have a week long slumber party.  Too bad The Bachelorette is over.  We both love that show and usually call each other at all the commercial breaks and try to predict the next episode.  I’ll have to get her hooked on some of my other reality shows.  I know she’s particularly excited to take care of all 5 of our pets all week while Dan is at work and I’m in bed or on the couch.  😉  Don’t worry mom, I won’t make you clean the litter box – that’s Little/Mister Precious’s job. 

My hair is starting to grow back, but very slowly and it’s really soft, like peach fuzz.  I’ve finally gotten comfortable not wearing a hat or wig around the house but I really only do that when it’s hot flash time, which isn’t fun but has actually gotten better the past few days so hopefully that’s all over with.

Well, that’s about it for today.  I’ll try to write tomorrow night after my pre-surgery appointment tomorrow.  Toodaloo cancer support crew!

One Response to “Chemo Cycle 6 Officially Over”

  1. Kelly Says:

    You just said “Toodaloo” 🙂 How adorable are YOU???
    Everything sounds great my luv!!! You amaze me… so proud of you!! Call you tonight. xoxoxoxoxoxo


Leave a Reply

