Pre-Surgery Appt, Random Message, and Exciting News

(Note: If this is your first time visiting my page, thank you for your concern and support.  You may want to read the pages to the left first, then read from below.  My latest blog entries will feed to the top automatically.   The most recent blog entries are also listed as links on the bottom left.)

I had my pre-surgery appointment today.  It went fine.  I didn’t really learn too much more than what I already knew.  Basically, the doctor just told us about the procedure again so I won’t recap all that.  So instead, I’ll just ramble. 

I got a new book recently, well several books actually, so I have them for my recovery time.  One of the books is by Maya Angelou and is called “Letter to my Daughter”.  She doesn’t have a daughter but the book is written “to the daughter she never had” and is about her path to living well and living life with meaning.  It’s part guide book, part memoir and part poetry.  I’ve never read one of her books before.  Anyway, I was glancing over the first chapter in the store and thought I’d share a paragraph that I enjoyed.

“You may not control all the events that happen to you, but you can decide not to be reduced by them.  Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.  Do not complain.  Make every effort to change things you do not like.  If you cannot make a change, change the way you have been thinking.  You might find a new soultion.”

This got me thinking of my favorite quote: “Whether or not is is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.”  They aren’t really exactly related but the mind sometimes skips from one thought to another.  I pondered more on this and thought how life compares to those connect-the-dots puzzles you did when you were a child.  The dots represent the events that happen in your life.  How you connect those dots or proceed from one event to the next, makes up the picture of your life, just like the dots form a picture on the page.  If you take one of those dots away, the whole picture changes.  For example, take away the moment in my life when I learned I was pregnant, or when I miscarried, or watched the Dr. Oz episode on Oprah.  Take any one of those events away, and my life could be completely different right now.  The dots also affect others around you.  Think about how you handle your dots and how you move from one to the next, as those dots represent your life events and form your life’s picture.  Don’t wish one of those dots away, because it could change everything.  While you may think it would change things for the better, it could change things for the worse.  So be grateful for the dots in your life and make the best picture out of them as you can.  Remember my other favorite quote: “Enjoy this moment, for this moment is your life.”

Ok, now for my self-proclaimed inspirational message put into action……….

I initially saved this blog post as a draft and was planning on picking up with it later.  In the meantime, I received an email from a Harpo producer asking me to be on Dr. Oz’s radio show again!  They’re following up with the guests since the Oprah Dr. Oz finale and are also featuring a show on breast cancer and want me to be a part of it as someone who is surviving breast cancer right now!  The founder of the Susan G. Komen foundation is also going to be on the show!  I’m honored and so excited!  What an excellent way to start off Phase 2 of my treatments!

7 Responses to “Pre-Surgery Appt, Random Message, and Exciting News”

  1. Mom Says:

    You are truly amazing and I am so touched by everything you are! I will try to live by your message. (The operative word being “try”!). 🙂 Love you, love you, love you, Little Precious!

  2. Heather Puljung Says:

    I love that quote!! 🙂 hope you are doing well

  3. Carol Lambert Says:

    I see a book in your future, “Connecting the Dots”. Looking forward to dinner tonight and finally meeting you.

  4. Kelly Says:

    What a great way to start my day 🙂 Reading your blog just made my entire day better. Thank you!! We are all so lucky, Life is beautiful. Love you Miss Thang!

  5. Becky Says:

    I’m so excited for you that you 🙂 Yay!

  6. lori kragnes Says:

    awww.thats awesome gf, can’t wait to see you, might be in N.C. or sin city…hmmmm..love you….

  7. lori kragnes Says:

    i see my book, “my niece, my hero”


Leave a Reply

