On Oprah Again This Week!! and Other General Updates

(Note: If this is your first time visiting my page, thank you for your concern and support.  You may want to read the pages to the left first (My Story, About Me, My Dr. Oz / Oprah Story, etc.), then read from below.  My latest blog entries will feed to the top automatically.   The most recent blog entries are also listed as links on the bottom left.)

As most of you know, I record Oprah every day.  I was going through my DVR tonight and selected PLAY as I skimmed past the Oprah show from Tuesday.  It was NEW and was summarized as “Favorite Dr. Oz Moments”.  I hit PLAY and began watching, since as you also know, Dr. Oz is my new BFF/hero/etc.  😉  Anyway, my recording didn’t catch the first 10 minutes but about 15 minutes in, I was pleasantly surprised to see my pictures up on the set of the show again!!!  How cool is that?  The show where my pictures appeared on the set of the show (twice by the way) was one of Dr. Oz’s FAVORITE moments!   There I was, sitting on the couch with Buster, Shelby, Sofie Claire, and Simba (of course Cubbie was off hiding in the closet, totally oblivious to his mother’s fame 😉 ), and POOF – there Buster and I were on the Oprah show!!!  It was very surreal!! 

Speaking of Dr. Oz…….I still haven’t learned when my Dr. Oz and Nancy Brinker interview will air on XM so stay tuned for that.  I’ll keep everyone posted of course.  I’m also still waiting to hear from the producer of Dr. Oz’s new show for my guest appearence (premiering next week!!!).  I heard back from them so I know it’s happening – just don’t know all the details yet.

I had my third echocardiogram (AKA “heart echo test” – since one of the side effects of Herceptin is heart damage) this morning.  It went fine.  I don’t have the results yet but I’m expecting them to be good.  I start radiation tomorrow.  I think it’s just the first appointment to do the calibration / markings, etc.  I’m not looking forward to the tattoo markings.  I guess you can call me “voo-doo-tattoo” now.  😉  Oh yeah, and my hair is growing back (it started growing back before my last chemo on July 15 even ended actually).  It’s about half of a centimeter long but still looks terrible and I’m nowhere near being able to go without the wiggies or hats yet but I’ve done some research……head hair grows about a half of an inch per month so I will probably be hat/wiggie free by March 2010 – exactly 1 year from diagnosis.  Hooray for that!  These darn hats/wiggies are driving me nuts!

Our adoption home study (pre-placement assessment) is still under way.  Our home visit meetings with the social worker are coming up the week after next.  Everything is lining up and we hope to have a baby soon!  We’re scheduled to be added to the waiting list in January but are hoping to be accepted sooner.  They want us to wait until January because they have a policy that requires you to be one year from a cancer diagnosis (March 2009) if you have cancer in the family.  My oncologist has cleared us though and has written a letter explaining my latest prognosis so we’re hopeful they decide to add us to the waiting list sooner.  A lot of adoption agencies won’t even accept you into the program or have longer waiting lists when you have cancer so we’re glad to have everything under way.

2 Responses to “On Oprah Again This Week!! and Other General Updates”

  1. Becky Says:

    Thats great news! I’m excited to hear when you’ll be on Dr Oz! I’m even more excited to hear about the adoption progress! 🙂

  2. Susan Says:

    That really is great news about the adoption. I think you will be so relieved after you start the process of radiation. I think it’s the not knowing what lies ahead that makes it scary especially after chemo.
    Compared to chemo radiation is a breeze. After changing and lying down in your styrofoam type mold (they will make one for you), you are on the table where they beam the light very quickly. There is no pain whatsoever including when you get the tiny tatoos.
    Can’t wait to hear how it went.


Leave a Reply

