Susan G. Komen Walk

 (Note: If this is your first time visiting my page, thank you for your concern and support. You may want to read the pages to the left first (My Story, About Me, My Dr. Oz / Oprah Story, etc.), then read from below. My latest blog entries will feed to the top automatically. The most recent blog entries are also listed as links on the bottom left.)

Today was the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure walk in uptown Charlotte.  Food Lion was one of the largest corporate sponsors (together with Yoplait) and I got to present the check on stage along with another survivor who I work with.  It was pretty neat!  I also got to meet DeAngelo Wiliams (his mom is a survivor) and got his autograph on my survivor shirt.  I also got my picture taken with Brother Fred, a local radio and TV celebrity.  The race was a special day.  I got to hold my survivor balloon and participate in the survivor ceremony, which was amazing.  It was a very nice morning.  And the weather is so beautiful today!  Thanks for coming out guys – Dan, Mom, Dad, Nina, Waylon, Courtney and Cindy!  🙂

Here is a link to some online videos.  WBTV was there filming live.  Our group is standing right near the scissor lift, where Molly (Charlotte newscaster), DeAngelo Williams and Amy Shue (Food Lion breast cancer survivor) are standing with the microphone.

http://www.wbtv.com/Global/story.asp?S=11249942

And a link to some pics below.  Mom is in pic #11 on the top right.  She’s wearing a pink hat and a pink hoodie.  You can barely see her but she’s on there! I’ve pasted that pic below.  🙂

www.charlotte.com - mom in top right corner!

http://www.charlotte.com - mom in top right corner (barely)!

 

2 Responses to “Susan G. Komen Walk”

  1. Becky Says:

    I wish I could have been able to come!! Looks like it was fun:)

  2. Kelly McCombs Says:

    GO LINDA 🙂 🙂 Hey my Danielle – miss you!!!
    Wish I could have been there. Proud of you, so neat you were able to actually present the check on stage 🙂
    Sorry I missed it!


Leave a Reply

