Happy Thanksgiving! / Welcome Baby Aidan!

(Note: If this is your first time visiting my page, thank you for your concern and support. You may want to read the pages to the left first (My Story, About Me, My Dr. Oz / Oprah Story, etc.), then read from below. My latest blog entries will feed to the top automatically. The most recent blog entries are also listed as links on the bottom left.)

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  Well, if you haven’t heard, our family has A LOT to be THANKFUL for this year!  Not only am I cancer free after all my treatments this year, our adoption has already happened!  After only a few WEEKS signed up with our adoption consultant (A Step Ahead) we have a NEW BABY BOY!  We got a call last week on Tuesday saying there was a birthmother in Colorado who had a baby on November 8, 2009 and the original adoptive parents fell through and they wanted to know if we were interested!  We of course were and submitted our profile right away.  The agency received our profile the next day and showed it to the birthmother, along with two other family profiles.  The birthmother chooses her adoptive family and we received a call on Thursday (11/19/09) morning around 11am saying we were her chosen family!   Ok, now let me pause on that point for a minute.  If you recall, or perhaps not, in entries past, I had mentioned several times how I kept looking at the time when it was 9:11 (signal of emergency), up until the time I was diagnosed in March.  I had taken it as a sign that something was wrong because as soon as I was diagnosed and receiving treatment, I started looking at the clock when it was 9:10, 9:12 or some other time.  That was my indication that the warning was over.  Then, our first potential adoption (we submitted our profile to another birthmother a couple weeks earlier) had a date of 9/11 linked with it (the birthmother’s initial doctor’s appt) and that one didn’t work out.  I thought it was another sign.  Then, this one comes up, and we learned we were the chosen family on 11/19  – or 9:11 backwards – our luck “turning around”!!!!!!!  I truly believe God had his hands in this little miracle!!!

We hurried to get things in order, including arranging maternity leave and work schedules, setting I’m sure random out-of-office replies at work, packing, signing contracts and documents, booking our tickets, arranging pet care (THANKS NINA!!!), shopping for preemie clothes, getting all our funds in order (adoption is quite expensive!) and we were on our way!!!  We arrived Saturday (Nov 21) and went straight to the hospital.  I was so nervous all morning and hadn’t slept all week, ever since we got the first call on Tuesday.  We had been trying to get pregnant for 4 years and the adoption was just in the beginning stages.  We were told to anticipate a year and were trying to be patient as we waited for that time to come.  We were thrilled to learn it would be so soon!!!  It was my dream adoption plan!!  I always dreamed we would have one of those stories where you get a call and fly out the next day.  I preferred this over being matched with a pregnant birthmother and having to wait for months until she delivered, worried the whole time she might change her mind.  I would have been a nervous wreck the whole time.  I knew this adoption was the right one for us, the moment we got the call that Tuesday.  Anyway, we arrived at the hospital on Saturday, met an agency worker in the lobby and were led into the room where our son was waiting for us.  He was being cuddled by his birthmother, who passed him to us right when we walked in.  She had spent every day at the hospital with him until our arrival and wanted to be the one to pass him to us.  It was such a sweet moment, and not as awkward as you would think.  Everything seemed so perfect.  We graciously accepted her gift and are so thankful for her choice.  We got the opportunity to spend a lot of time with the birthmother, which we really enjoyed. 

We named our little precious Aidan and we should be going home from the hospital with him tomorrow.  He’s testing his car seat out right now and doesn’t like it very much.  It’s the first we’ve heard him cry since we arrived (he is a very pleasant baby).  I’ll be out here another week while the Interstate Compact adoption stuff gets legalized and then I’ll be home.  Aidan’s original due date was 12/25 – what a perfect little Christmas present!  Here’s some pics:

Little Snuggle Bunny!

Proud Parents

Mommy and Aidan

He is THE CUTEST!

Daddy and Aidan!

Garden of the Gods

Garden of the Gods

Our Happy Little Family!

 

3 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving! / Welcome Baby Aidan!”

  1. Becky Says:

    I have tears of joy for you guys!!! I’m SO happy for you, this couldn’t have worked out better. Let me know when you get home so I can send sweet Aidan his presents! 🙂 Congrats times 1000!!! Can’t wait to meet him!

  2. Kelly McCombs Says:

    AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING!!!!!! love u!! love Aidan!! God is great. 🙂 🙂 See you and little precious in 20 days!!

  3. Danielle Kragnes Murray Says:

    Reblogged this on Danielle’s Cancer Survivor Story ~ Cancer Diaries and commented:

    I posted daily facts about breast cancer last month for breast cancer awareness month. November is adoption awareness month and I tried to do the same but fell short on the daily frequency. There are only a few days left. Right now, I am reblogging a blog post announcing our adoption back in 2009. This should count for a few to catch me up. You can skip over the italicized part at the beginning.


Leave a Reply

