American Cancer Society’s Making Strides Email

So here is the email I spoke about a few days ago that was going to be distributed to the last year’s Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walkers.  If you click on the “read my story” link, it takes you to the longer story, which is what they sent the 300 media outlets in their “press release” earlier last week (or whenever it was, I tend to lose track of time).  🙂 

Dear Danielle,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for participating in Making Strides Against Breast Cancer of Charlotte last year.  In 2012 you raised $25.00 for the fight against breast cancer.  This fundraising helps support research and treatment like the ones that saved my life.

Daniell_Murray_Family_small
Sign Up Online Button

In 2009, at the age of 30, I was diagnosed with an aggressive form of breast cancer, after almost a year of being misdiagnosed due to my age.  After an aggressive treatment plan, I am now in remission- 3 ½ years out.  Following chemo, surgery, and radiation, my prognosis significantly improved, and my husband and I decided to adopt a baby (after years of fertility issues and hearing I would need to wait until I finished 5 years of continued hormone treatment before we could try again).  At that time, it immediately become evident to me – all of the years of fertility issues, the cancer diagnosis, grueling treatments, even the type of cancer and the time I spent misdiagnosed……it all led me to where I am today: “Aidan’s Mom”; it was all meant to be.  But not all stories end this way, and we still need to fight for a cure.

You may have already received a phone call asking you to sign up, but I wanted to send you a quick email with a direct link to make signing up easy for you.  I hope by sharing my story, you will be encouraged to provide support to the American Cancer Society’s Making Strides Against Breast Cancer this year – we need to find a CURE, and in the meantime, support those battling the disease right now.  Thank you for taking the time to read my story.

Please visit our website today and sign up.  Our walk is on October 20 and I’ll be there waiting to meet you.  I appreciate the fundraising efforts you made last year.  We are counting on you again this year.

Until there’s a cure …

Danielle Murray Cancer Survivor Making Strides Against Breast Cancer, Charlotte NC

Leave a Reply

